
APC Smart-UPS SCL500RM1UC Lithium-Ion Rackmount UPS
- 400 W output, 120 V, 3.75 A
- 4 NEMA 5-15R outlets
- 1U rackmount, short 9.13 inch depth
- Lithium-ion battery, 10 year average life
- 2 minute runtime listed, load not stated
- 3 hour recharge time
- Hot swap batteries, data line protection
- 2 year warranty
Last refreshed Sep 28, 2026 · Based on the Amazon listing and published specifications, not hands-on testing.
A shallow rackmount UPS for small business network and point of sale gear that needs protection from brief outages. Listed runtime is very short, so it bridges blips, not long blackouts.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. ProductDome earns a commission when you buy through links on this page.
ASIN: B07V3CWGDKModel: SCL500RM1UCCategory: Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS)
Styles Available
Need a different one? Pick on Amazon →
Overview
Not a desktop power strip with a battery, the APC Smart-UPS SC is a one rack unit lithium-ion UPS built for network gear and point-of-sale devices. Mounted in a short-depth rack, it protects against power disturbances and carries connected equipment through outages.
Buy it to protect a small network cabinet with a shallow lithium-ion unit that offers hot swap batteries and data line protection. Listed runtime is very short and the load behind that figure is not stated, so plan on bridging brief outages, not running through long ones.
Who it's for
A small office with a short-depth network cabinet gets battery backup without giving up much rack space. A server room that must run through a long blackout needs a larger unit.
Pros and cons
- One rack unit tall, short depth
- Lithium-ion battery with long service life
- Hot swap batteries
- Built-in data line protection
- Short listed runtime
- Load behind the runtime figure not listed
- Four outlets only
- Modest output for larger servers
Performance notes
Runtime depends on the connected load: the lithium-ion pack stores a fixed amount of energy, so lighter loads stretch it and heavier ones shorten it. During a disturbance or outage the unit supplies the outlets from the battery, while built-in data line protection covers connected network lines.
Where it stands among uninterruptible power supply (ups)
- #3 most-searched brand and model of the 12 uninterruptible power supply (ups) lines we track (by search demand, not sales).
From the specs of the 27 uninterruptible power supply (ups) we list; not a test result.
Specifications
| Brand | APC |
|---|---|
| Model | SCL500RM1UC |
| Dimensions & fit | |
| Item weight | 9.3 pounds |
| Item Dimensions D x W x H | 9.1 × 17 × 1.7 inches |
| Capacity & performance | |
| Output Wattage | 400 watts |
| Output Voltage | 120 volts |
| Output Current | 3.75 amps |
| Wattage | 450 watts |
| Frequency range | 50 Hz |
| Power & efficiency | |
| Input Voltage | 120 volts |
| Amperage | 0.42 amps |
| Power Plug Type | Type B - 3 Pin (North American) |
| Battery Cell Type | Lithium Ion |
| Battery Average Life | 10 years |
| Maximum Power | 400 watts |
| Battery charge time | 3 hours |
| Construction & materials | |
| Enclosure Material | Alloy Steel |
| Color | Black |
| Warranty & support | |
| Warranty Description | 2 years |
| Other details | |
| Runtime | 2 minutes |
| Connector Type | NEMA 5-15R |
| Number of Outlets | 4 |
| Form Factor | Rack, 1U short depth |
| Hot swap batteries | Yes |
Closest rivals on specs
UGREEN US3000 NAS UPS Battery Backup- Item weight 9.3 vs 0.97 pounds (+859%)
- Output Wattage 400 vs 120 watts (+233%)
CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U PFC Sinewave Rack UPS- Item weight 9.3 vs 26.8 pounds (-65%)
- Battery Average Life 10 vs 3 years (+233%)
- Maximum Power 400 vs 1000 watts (-60%)
CyberPower SL950U Standby UPS Battery Backup- Item weight 9.3 vs 7.1 pounds (+31%)
- Output Wattage 400 vs 510 watts (-22%)
- Runtime 2 vs 8 minutes (-75%)
Frequently asked questions
Can I replace the battery in the APC Smart-UPS SC SCL500RM1UC?
The description lists hot swap batteries, and the battery average life is given as 10 years.
What plug does the APC SCL500RM1UC use?
It uses a Type B 3 pin North American plug at 120 volts.
Will the APC SCL500RM1UC run a server through a long blackout?
The listing gives a 2 minute runtime without stating the load, and 400 watts of output. Treat it as protection for brief outages, not extended ones.
Does the APC SCL500RM1UC protect network lines?
Yes, the description lists built-in data line protection. A surge protection rating is not given.